About the Show

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series consists of ten stellar tournaments held around the world, in which national sevens teams compete for series points at each round.

An overall champion is crowned at the end of the season based on points accumulated throughout the ten events. The 2015/16 season sees five new destinations added to the series in Cape Town, Sydney, Vancouver, Singapore and Paris.

The 2015/16 carries added significance with many of the teams competing on the series having qualified for sevens' debut at the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016. The top four-ranked sides at the end of the 2014/15 series booked their place through the series - namely Fiji, South Africa, New Zealand and England on behalf of Team GB.

There are 15 'core' teams who participate at each round of the Series. Since the 2012/13 season promotion and relegation from this ever-present status came into effect, and last season Russia were promoted, with Japan being relegated.