Supercars 2019: Wrap Up

A look back at the 2019 season

Supercars 2019 season has come to an end and one clear victor has risen to the top.

Scott McLaughlin won the 2019 season giving himself back-to-back championships. McLaughlin had 18 wins across the season, easily ahead of Shane van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup who had 5 wins each.

McLaughlin started the year strongly and won the first four races of the season. He had six wins in a row in the middle of the season which strongly cemented him at the top, but It wasn’t until Sandown where he mathematically couldn’t be beaten and he secured the championship.

Alongside Alex Premat, McLaughlin won this year’s Bathurst 1000. There was controversy with the win after his teammate Fabian Coulthard held up the race pack under a safety car. This incident will be talked about for years to come at subsequent Bathurst 1000s.

Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes win the Penrite Oil Sandown 500 and take out the 2019 Pirtek Enduro Cup during Event 14 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, Melbourne, Victoria. Australia 10th 2019

At the Supercars Gala Awards McLaughlin was awarded the driver-voted Drivers’ Driver Award by his peers, as well as the Armor All Pole Position award. Shane van Gisbergen won the Barry Sheene Medal as the best and fairest driver, for the first time in his career.

There have been plenty of changes off the track.

Kelly Racing have fare welled their Nissan Altima’s and will be driving Ford Mustang’s in the 2020 season. They raced the Nissan’s for seven seasons, the first six with factory backing. With the change they will be going from four cars to two, with Rick Kelly and Andre Heimgartner remaining on the team. Simona De Silvestro will be finishing her Supercar career and going to a factory role at Porsche. Garry Jacobson is expected to Matt Stone Racing.

James Courtney and Scott Pye both left Walkinshaw Andretti United team. Courtney had been with the team for 9 years will be joining Tekno’s new Team Sydney for the 2020 season. Pye is moving to Team 18. The long rumoured switch by Chaz Mostert from Tickford Racing to WAU has finally been confirmed. After eight years with Tickford Mostert is excited about the change in his career and the new challenges ahead. The other new signing for WAU is expected to be the newly crowned Dunlop Super2 Series winner Bryce Fullwood.

Tim Slade is leaving Brad Jones Racing. His next drive for 2020 is still to be announced.

Richie Stanaway is retiring from racing.

After the season finale, he posted the following on social media:

"After 23 years of strapping the helmet on I feel like it's time to finally call it a day.

"I got further than I could have ever imagined I would &and I can't thank everyone enough that has been a part of the journey. Time to start a new chapter."

NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 24: (EDITORS NOTE: A polarizing filter was used for this image.) Richie Stanaway driver of the #33 Boost Mobile Racing Holden Commodore ZB looks on during the Newcastle 500 as part of the 2019 Supercars Championship on November 24, 2019 in Newcastle, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

2019 results:

Drivers Championship:

  1. Scott McLaughlin
  2. Shane van Gisbergen
  3. Jamie Whincup
  4. Fabian Coulthard
  5. Chaz Mostert
  6. David Reynolds
  7. Cameron Waters
  8. Will Davison
  9. Nick Percat
  10. Lee Holdsworth

Teams Championship:

  1. Shell V-Power Racing Team - DJR Team Penske
  2. Red Bull Holden Racing Team - Triple Eight Race Engineering
  3. The Bottle-O Racing Team & Supercheap Auto Racing - Tickford Racing

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000:

  1. Scott McLaughlin/Alex Premat
  2. Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander
  3. James Courtney/Jack Perkins
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Event 12 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, Bathurst, New South Wales. Australia 10th-13th Oct 2019