2019 Rugby World Cup Final

After six weeks, one team has emerged victorious

After losing a match in the pools and now claiming the Trophy, South Africa is the first country to come back from a loss and then win in the history of the competition.

The 2019 Rugby World Cup champions convincingly defeated England, 32-12. This makes it number three for South Africa, having previously won the Webb Ellis Cup in 1995 and 2007.

"England came as the big game hunter, but it was the Lion that was savaged by the Springbok," Network 10 commentator Gordon Bray

South Africa dominated early and the tries when they came, were showstoppers. England lost prop Kyle Sinckler after just three minutes to a concussion and the barrage from the opposition never eased up.

England still had fight left in them and only trailed 12-6 going in to half-time, but it was the sheer physical superiority that saw South Africa push further and further in front and claim the prize. The Springboks won the scrum count 11-3.

The second half saw Mapimpi score the decisive try in the 66th minute down the left. Kolbe put the game out of England's reach when he scored on the other wing.

With the win South Africa returned to the top of the World Rugby Men's rankings for the first time since 2009.

South Africa: 32

Tries: Mapimpi, Kolbe

Conversions: Pollard 2

Penalties: Pollard 6

England: 12

Penalties: Farrell 4