2015 Rugby World Cup Wrap Up

A Look Back at the Last Rugby World Cup

The 2015 Rugby World Cup was the eighth world cup. The tournament was held in England from 18th September to 31st October.

New Zealand won the coveted cup beating Australia in the final 34-17 becoming the first team to retain their title and the first team to win for a third time. South Africa took out third place defeating Argentina 24-13.

The hosts England did not fare well and were knocked out at the pool stage. Pool A was a particularly strong group to be drawn in as it contained the 2nd, 3rd and 4th (Australia, England and Wales) ranked teams in the World. This contributed to England becoming the first solo host nation to not progress to the knockout stages. Many people criticised the fact the pools were drawn three years before the tournament.

Japan staged one of the biggest upsets in the history of rugby when they defeated South Africa during the opening weekend. Japan scored the winning try in the added minutes and the try was named the best match moment in the tournament.

Over the tournament Julian Savea from New Zealand scored the most tries with eight, equalling the record set by Jonah Lomu (New Zealand) and Bryan Habana (South Africa). Nicolas Sanchez of Argentina was the top point scorer with one try, 13 conversions, 20 penalties and two drop goals.

20 teams competed in the 2015 World Cup. 12 of the teams qualified by finishing in the top three places in their pools in the 2011 World Cup. The other teams qualified through regional competition.

Each team had a squad of 31 players. Players could be replaced if they were injured.

The pools for the tournament were:

Pool A Australia England Wales Fiji Uruguay

Pool B South Africa Samoa Scotland Japan United States

Pool C New Zealand Argentina Tonga Georgia Namibia

Pool D France Ireland Italy Canada Romania

Rugby World Cup 2019 - LIVE on 10, BOLD and streamed LIVE on 10 play.